New York State Workers’ Compensation



Policy Statement

An employee who sustains a work-related injury or illness may be eligible for benefits in accordance with New York State Workers’ Compensation Law. The employee must report the incident immediately to his or her supervisor. The employee and his or her supervisor must complete a Workers’ Compensation Accident/Illness Report Form within 24 hours of the work-related injury or illness, and the supervisor must file the Form with Risk Management within the same 24 hour period.

An employee absent for five consecutive workdays must submit a return to work form completed by the employee’s supervisor and the employee’s physician to Risk Management upon returning to work. Restrictions recommended by the physician may result in a mandatory return to work physical for the employee.

Policy Administration

Links to Procedures and Related Information

Amended: February 2007
Amended: June 2008